Escape Artists

Pseudopod => Episode Comments => Topic started by: Bdoomed on January 07, 2018, 12:54:33 AM



Title: PseudoPod 576: Flash On The Borderlands XLI: Flash Fiction Contest 5 Winners
Post by: Bdoomed on January 07, 2018, 12:54:33 AM
PseudoPod 576: Flash On The Borderlands XLI: Flash Fiction Contest 5 Winners (http://pseudopod.org/2018/01/06/pseudopod-576-fotb-xli-ffc5-winners/)

Authors: Evan Dicken (http://pseudopod.org/people/evan-dicken/), Stephanie Malia Morris (http://pseudopod.org/people/stephanie-malia-morris/) and Drew Czernik (http://pseudopod.org/people/drew-czernik/)
Narrators: Karen Bovenmyer (http://pseudopod.org/people/karen-bovenmyer/), Alexis Goble (http://pseudopod.org/people/alexis-goble/) and Austin Malone (http://pseudopod.org/people/austin-malone/)



Third Place: The Taking Tree by Evan Dicken, narrated by Karen Bovenmyer

Governor Porter,

I deserve to die for what I’ve done, just please don’t bury me.

I’m reaching out because I got no one else. Even my lawyer keeps asking where the bodies are buried. I wish I knew. Then I could chop the damn thing down, but the tree don’t work like that.




Second Place: Legal Tender by Stephanie Malia Morris, narrated by Alexis Goble

We are women with money under our skin. A red rash of pennies peppering our ribs, dimes scattered across our bellies, a honeycomb of quarters sprouting between our thighs. The coins break out over our backs, fatten our wrists. Half dollars pave our scalps. We wear chokers of nickels.



First Place: Two Step by Drew Czernik, narrated by Austin Malone

I take one step, he takes two.

I woke up that first morning with the remnants of a nightmare in the back of my head. He was out there, coming closer. I blinked, rubbed sleep from my eyes and tried to scrub the nightmare from my brain. The sleep went, the nightmare didn’t.





Listen to this week's Pseudopod. (http://traffic.libsyn.com/pseudopod/Pseudo576_FlashOnTheBorderlandsXLI.mp3)


Title: Re: PseudoPod 576: Flash On The Borderlands XLI: Flash Fiction Contest 5 Winners
Post by: Katzentatzen on January 27, 2018, 05:47:45 PM
I LOVED "Legal Tender". Women's pain is a subject too often overlooked.


Title: Re: PseudoPod 576: Flash On The Borderlands XLI: Flash Fiction Contest 5 Winners
Post by: Ichneumon on March 15, 2018, 09:02:18 AM
The Taking Tree was good classic style horror.
I can appreciate Legal tender, but it was too abstract to be scary for me.
I used to have a nightmare kind of like Two Step. Maybe a lot of people do.