Escape Artists

News:

News

ATTENTION: NEW FORUM THEME Please see here for details: http://forum.escapeartists.net/index.php?topic=13188.0

Author Topic: Favorite all-time episodes?  (Read 2419 times)

julkaz

  • Extern
  • *
  • Posts: 13
  • folk horror dorkminx
on: July 26, 2018, 12:42:55 AM
What are your absolute favorite Pseudopod episodes?

Mine (granted, I haven't listened to all yet):

Tamsyn Muir: The Woman in the Hill http://pseudopod.org/2018/05/05/pseudopod-593-the-woman-in-the-hill/ (her other one is also great)
Simon Bestwick: The Moraine http://pseudopod.org/2016/12/15/pseudopod-521-the-moraine/
Scott R. Jones: Turbulence http://pseudopod.org/2015/09/11/pseudopod-455-turbulence/
Lynda E. Rucker: The Last Reel http://pseudopod.org/2012/10/19/pseudopod-304-the-last-reel/
Ramsey Campbell: Christmas Present http://pseudopod.org/2017/12/24/pseudopod-575-christmas-present/
Richard Harland: The Fear http://pseudopod.org/2017/04/21/pseudopod-539-the-fear/
Rick Kennett: The Dark and What It Said: http://pseudopod.org/2012/03/09/pseudopod-272-the-dark-and-what-it-said/

Honorary mention: The Jamcoi by J.M. McDermott. I have to include it because it's one of the best I've heard, but I am probably never going to listen to it again.

Tell me more, I wanna be scared!



Sgarre1

  • Editor
  • *****
  • Posts: 1211
  • "Let There Be Fright!"
Reply #1 on: July 26, 2018, 01:48:29 AM
Thanks for including "Christmas Present", I worked very hard on that one.



julkaz

  • Extern
  • *
  • Posts: 13
  • folk horror dorkminx
Reply #2 on: July 26, 2018, 03:33:35 AM
I was going to mention that's my favorite episode for sound design!



salvadorraaf

  • Extern
  • *
  • Posts: 1
Reply #3 on: October 15, 2019, 09:14:42 AM
I know this is an old post, but 'What Throat' is an episode all Pseudopod fans MUST listen to.



zoanon

  • Peltast
  • ***
  • Posts: 138
Reply #4 on: October 16, 2019, 02:54:43 AM
The episodes that are viscerally seared into my mind are:

187: Oded the Merciless
I think this might have been my first experience with hard core body horror which probably explains why I'll never get the image of walking on bone spurs out of my head

"what makes you tick" from Flash On The Borderlands VII
the voice is forever in my mind even now 10 years later.

More recently 651: the coven of dead girls
The story and the telling hit me hard and I just had to stay in silence and process for a while, I loved it.