Author Topic: PC535-536: The Threadbare Magician  (Read 2534 times)

Ocicat

• Castle Watchcat
  • Anything for a Weird Life
on: August 15, 2018, 01:52:48 AM
PodCastle 535-536: The Threadbare Magician

Rated R, for cursing wizards and magical desires.

Originally published in Genius Loci: Tales of the Spirit of Place.

Listen to this week’s PodCastle!

Scuba Man

• Lochage
  • Drabblecast, Pseudopod, Escapepod, Podcastle
    • Black Cat Bed And Breakfast (proposed start up 2024)
Reply #1 on: September 09, 2018, 02:49:24 PM
It’s a fantastic narration. The protagonist was a right bastard [edit: {at times... other times, he earned my pity}]. He reminded me of a callus John Constantine.
Nice [edit: 2-part episode].
« Last Edit: September 09, 2018, 06:11:06 PM by Scuba Man »

I'm a stand-up philosopher until 2024. Then, I move onto my next gig. I'm a gentleman forester and farmer. I also enjoy jumping into Lake Huron and panicking the fish.

Katzentatzen

• Matross
Reply #2 on: September 27, 2018, 06:23:07 PM
This was really fun! I loved the forms magic could take, clothes-bound magic is delightful. I grieved that selfish love poisoned (literally) the relationship between the protagonist and his ex, but he ended up in a pretty good place, in my opinion.

"To understand a cat you must realize that he has his own gifts, his own viewpoint, even his own morality."
--LILIAN JACKSON BRAUN

Scuba Man

• Lochage
  • Drabblecast, Pseudopod, Escapepod, Podcastle
    • Black Cat Bed And Breakfast (proposed start up 2024)
Reply #3 on: September 28, 2018, 11:27:18 PM
This was really fun! I loved the forms magic could take, clothes-bound magic is delightful. I grieved that selfish love poisoned (literally) the relationship between the protagonist and his ex, but he ended up in a pretty good place, in my opinion.
...Re: a good place, indeed....
...until another THING pops up and tries to test their demon-hood against our technicolor-dreamcoat-wearing hombre.  :)