Author Topic: EP135: Stu  (Read 21129 times)

Chodon

• Lochage
  • Molon Labe
Reply #25 on: December 14, 2007, 05:50:06 PM
Okay, after everyone's rave reviews I went back and tried this story again.  It still didn't click.  I guess I've never had a relationship with one of my parent's friends like this or something.  I just couldn't put myself in the shoes of any of the characters.  Maybe because I'm an engineer in a position like Stu I associated with him more than the main character?  I'm a tenacious as hell engineer in real life and I keep flapping my arms up and down and shouting until someone listens.  Most engineers I work with are that way.  Stu was content to be trampled on by the government, and smile the whole time.  I think that's what seemed unrealistic to me.  Or maybe I'm too dense to get the heavier themes.  I'm glad everyone else enjoyed this story so much, but it still just doesn't work for me.

Those who would sacrifice liberty for safety deserve neither.

eytanz

Reply #26 on: December 15, 2007, 10:54:22 PM

swdragoon

• Peltast
    • friends hating friends
Reply #27 on: December 16, 2007, 01:21:23 AM
I liked this story it was remunicent of my military time . But if you think this is limited to the us gov you are sadly misinformed

Improvise, Adapt ,Overcome.

Planish

• Hipparch
  • Fun will now commence.
    • northernelectric.ca
Reply #28 on: December 17, 2007, 05:59:30 AM
I enjoyed the story. My take on it is the notion of it being about "the journey, not the destination".

I was also reminded of Hedy Lamar's little-known contribution to technology.

Quote from: wikipedia