Author Topic: How do you deal with slacker co-workers?  (Read 4431 times)

Chodon

• Lochage
  • Molon Labe
on: January 21, 2008, 09:14:47 PM
So I have a co-worker who is in charge of our environmental, health, and safety team.  She's not the brightest bulb in the box.  She used the word "decimals" to describe the level of noise in our facility and she says "KWH watt hours" instead of "kilowatt hours".  She has never logged into our company's website to monitor our energy usage and only complains about other people not doing things that are her job.

I got roped into this team of hers because I have a lot of chemistry background and I'm one of the few that gives a rat's ass about the environment.  During meetings the rest of the team and I bring up ideas that can make our facility more environmentally friendly.  I brought up the idea of waterless urinals and low/variable flush toilets.  Some other people talked about high efficiency HVAC (our current stuff is 25 years old and I measured it at about 30% efficient...that's right, I purchased the equipment and went on the roof to measure it) and high efficiency fluorescent lights.  She then says "great idea, make it happen."  That kind of chaps my ass.  This is her only job and all her goals/raises are tied to this, not mine.  I have done this in the past on doing calculations for buying renewable energy credits and she got all the recognition.  Now she is sending me nasty e-mails saying she needs facts and calculations on the toilets from me for a presentation to top management.  I can't decide if I should be a good boy and come up with some realistic figures, make up some ridiculous facts that nobody with half a brain would believe (because she wouldn't catch the errors), or if I should just tell her to shove off because I'm not doing this crap anymore.