Author Topic: Guilty Secrets--The Have's vs. Have Nots  (Read 18607 times)

Boggled Coriander

• Lochage
    • Balancing Frogs
Reply #25 on: April 11, 2008, 01:35:45 AM
I went through an intense Xanth-loving phase in my early teens.  Haven't gone near the books since.  In their defense, I don't think Piers Anthony ever intended for them to be anything more than fun froth.

Shortly afterwards I graduated to Anthony's "Cluster" series.  Only afterwards did I realize that the stories could be reduced to "Hero travels to new planet.  Hero learns to have sex in local fashion.  Repeat."

"The meteor formed a crater, vampires crawling out of the crater." -  The Lyttle Lytton contest

stePH

• Actually has enough cowbell.
  • Hipparch
  • Cool story, bro!
    • Thetatr0n on SoundCloud
Reply #26 on: April 11, 2008, 02:10:16 AM
I went through an intense Xanth-loving phase in my early teens.  Haven't gone near the books since.  In their defense, I don't think Piers Anthony ever intended for them to be anything more than fun froth.

Shortly afterwards I graduated to Anthony's "Cluster" series.  Only afterwards did I realize that the stories could be reduced to "Hero travels to new planet.  Hero learns to have sex in local fashion.  Repeat."

Clusterf#ck?  ;D

"Nerdcore is like playing Halo while getting a blow-job from Hello Kitty."
-- some guy interviewed in Nerdcore Rising

birdless

• Lochage
  • Five is right out.
Reply #27 on: April 11, 2008, 02:16:08 AM
OK, I'll bite.

What's the story on "hate" for fantasy?  I'm not saying you or anyone else should like it.  But, finding the genre silly, or tedious, or boring, or trite I could understand.  But hate? (or I guess it's actually hate!!!)  Did an elf abuse you when you were a child, or what?