Author Topic: Reprints vs Original work  (Read 6057 times)

slic

• Hipparch
  • Stephen Lumini
on: January 26, 2007, 11:27:17 PM
Steve made a comment in amongst the discussion of sci-fi magazine subscriptions (I can't remember when) along the lines that Escape Pod is actively interested in "reprinting" existing sci-fi.  That got me to wondering about the general idea of using pre-existing works versus sticking with original stories.

I don't really have a preference, since I really love the latest story (EP090: How Lonesome a Life Without Nerve Gas) which I likely would never have found on my own.  However, there have been a couple of times that I heard a story I've already read.

I'm curious what some of the editorial thinking is about reprints - is it a safer bet? Is the slush pile not varied enough? Do you just stumble across a great story and decide to use it?

I have no experience in the realm of publishing, so any info would be interesting.

scottjanssens

• Palmer
Reply #1 on: January 26, 2007, 11:41:55 PM
Mostly we're just looking to get the best stories we possibly can.  Since Escape Pod doesn't pay professional rates, most writers submit to the professional markets first.  Buying reprints allows us to get stories that we never had first crack at.  And authors are pleased to sell a story multiple times.  That doesn't mean we don't like unpublished stories.  We're ecstatic that Escape Pod was the first place to publish the Union Dues stories.  We don't automatically buy any story submitted to us that appeared in the big three or another pro market.  The story must be of high quality and fit with what we (but mainly Steve) think is an "Escape Pod story".

Sometimes we seek out stories as well.  I bought Greg van Eekhout's chapbook at last year's Worldcon and after reading Authorwerx I emailed Greg and told him he had to submit it to us.  A chunk of my convetion time is spent pestering authors to send us stories.  Sometimes they actually do :)

SFEley