Author Topic: We have a crit group you can join  (Read 53274 times)

eytanz

Reply #50 on: April 11, 2015, 02:09:47 PM
Since I've missed some posts on this thread lately, and the initial post was misleading, I want to confirm what SpareInch said - the current way to request to join the group is to message me.

HeartSailor

• Palmer
    • My Hobby
Reply #51 on: August 10, 2015, 11:56:22 AM
Dumb question, but I don't know how these things work.  I've written a little piece for the upcoming Pseudopod Flash fiction contest- is it cool to post for the crit group?  Or is that a possible breach of etiquette?

I'm very new at this (OK, this is my first crack at writing anything like this), so I want to learn and get feedback but I also don't want to do anything I'm not supposed to do.

Thanks!

HS

What can we gain by sailing to the moon if we are not able to cross the abyss that separates us from ourselves? This is the most important of all voyages of discovery, and without it, all the rest are not only useless, but disastrous.  Thomas Merton

Varda

• Rebound
  • Hipparch
  • Definitely not an android.
Reply #52 on: August 10, 2015, 02:19:46 PM
HeartSailor, if this is a story you want to enter into the flash contest, then I'd recommend you don't post it in the EA crit group. While you're certainly allowed to have people crit your entry ahead of time, anyone who knows your identity as the author will be disqualified from voting for that piece, since the contest is supposed to be anonymous. And since a lot of forumites have access to the crit group, you'd be cutting out a lot of potential voters before the contest even starts.

That said, one of the wonderful things about the flash contest is that people generally give lots of useful feedback when they read the entries, so if you don't win, you can revise it after the fact.

Medical Microfiction: Stories About Science
http://rckjones.wordpress.com

HeartSailor

• Palmer
    • My Hobby