Author Topic: Hey! I'm opening a new market!  (Read 4748 times)

AmoryLowe

• Extern
on: January 18, 2007, 03:41:28 AM
So, none of you have heard of me probably (okay, most definitely not), but I'm starting up a Podcast.

I'm an aspiring fiction writer myself, and after having so many rejection letters piled up along with one acceptance (although the anthology it went out in never came out because the publisher of the antho went down), I've decided to open up a fiction market, and it's going to be a podcast.

Why podcasting? Well, for a couple of reasons. Firstly, I love the sound of my own voice, but there are more precedents for doing it (probably not, but humor me).

I originally found out about Podcasting when I was browsing on Ralan.com looking for some fiction markets when I came across Escape Pod.

Podcasting? What the hell is podcasting?

I decided to check it out. The first three episodes of escape pod were up by then. I downloaded my podcatcher and began listening.

I was hooked.

I moved from the weekly adventures of Escape Pod onto Podcast novels. I started with Scott Sigler's "Earthcore" then moved on to "The Pocket and the Pendant".

Needless to say, I love the idea. I loved the idea of old time radio dramas, and this only brought back pleasant memories.

Back to the subject at hand, I'm starting a Podcast fiction market. I think there are too few of them, and hopefully I can help remedy that.

Not to infringe on Escape Pod's hold of the short fiction market (Actually, they pretty much own it, so it's my plus for not having to compete with them on their level), this podcast, titled "The Great Beyond" is going to be serializing fiction. I love longer fiction in the order of ten thousand to twenty thousand words, so that's what I'll be narrating (Once I get this podcast established, I will hope for guest readers, but that's in the pretty far future).