Author Topic: PC130: Chemical Magic  (Read 13431 times)

complibre

• Extern
Reply #25 on: December 05, 2010, 01:44:39 PM
Firstly, as a de-lurker, I should say I'm loving PodCastle in general.  What a wonderful discovery!  I've been working through all the Escape Artist casts sort of in order.  Have wanted to comment several times, but too busy.  So it's my first time, be gentle with me. :)

I didn't *like* this story because it the violation scene left me so creeped out and unsettled.  But I was impressed by the writing.

a.) The violation scene captured for me the dark attraction of the power over another that I imagine must be a huge part of that act; getting of trust, then violating it to gain intimate knowledge of the other against his/her will.  Then the Alchemist's insides were so fascinating, you almost sympathize with the Magician's desire to see more and more.  Yuccch!
b.) The gulf between the Magician's sense of himself and a more objective assessment is well done.  We're inside his head sort of liking him, though getting some weird vibes.  He's goofy, slightly charming, maybe tries too hard.  Then the vaguely ominous "do you trust me?" setup.  Then violation.  Then "I guess she wasn't the one" and suddenly we're in the presence of a real jerk.  But still the same guy.

I haven't been able to get this out of my head, which seems like a pretty good definition of a well-done story.

AliceNred

• Peltast
Reply #26 on: December 12, 2010, 04:26:13 AM
I thought I had posted about this one already...

I like the title, but somehow it didn't quite fit the story for me, but I pondered it for a day and saw how it was in fact perfect. Chemistry between two and I think alchemy was the start of chemistry.

The magician turned to be such a bastard. There is he is head over heals for her, can't get enough, to the point of his over-ridding desires were all that mattered.