Author Topic: Podiobooks question  (Read 3557 times)

lowky

• Hipparch
  • from http://lovecraftismissing.com/?page_id=3142
on: March 23, 2007, 07:00:29 PM
while I probably should be asking this at Podiobooks.com...

While making another post here I mentioned that I frequently have trouble with their feeds, and try to get it from the author's own site if available.  I have a question; does subscribing without actually downloading the book from podiobooks still count towards their subscriber base?  I wonder, as by increasing the podiobooks subscribers would bring them more notice from publishers etc, but if the numbers are generated by actual downloads and not subscriptions, then I will download it twice, and just delete one of the two after downloading. 

SFEley

• Hipparch
    • Escape Artists, Inc.
Reply #1 on: March 23, 2007, 10:04:40 PM
while I probably should be asking this at Podiobooks.com...

While making another post here I mentioned that I frequently have trouble with their feeds, and try to get it from the author's own site if available.  I have a question; does subscribing without actually downloading the book from podiobooks still count towards their subscriber base?  I wonder, as by increasing the podiobooks subscribers would bring them more notice from publishers etc, but if the numbers are generated by actual downloads and not subscriptions, then I will download it twice, and just delete one of the two after downloading. 

I'm in touch with their developers and I've been peripherally involved with PB from time to time.  What I can tell you is that they count both -- the number of subscriptions they have and the number of downloads.  They also draw a distinction between "active" and "inactive" subscribers -- if you created an account but haven't downloaded anything in a while, I believe that puts you in the inactive column.  What numbers they use for publicity purposes, I couldn't say.