Author Topic: What counts as a reprint?  (Read 4035 times)

MokalusOfBorg

• Palmer
    • Mokalus of Blog
on: May 30, 2013, 01:44:57 AM
Hi, all,

I'm a bit new to the whole publication scene, so please forgive my ignorance in advance. If I have a flash piece I posted to my blog ages ago, and now I've had it critiqued and reworked it a bit, would it still count as a reprint if I took it down off the blog before submitting it for publication? The blog is very low-traffic - I have more neighbours than site visits per month - so it's not as if my stories have been widely circulated yet. Does that even matter?

Mokalus of Borg

PS - I'm happy to try and sell as a reprint if that's what has to happen.
PPS - But obviously I have more options if it counts as the story's first publication.

Tomato is a fruit, watermelon is a berry, banana is a herb and everything you know is wrong.
PodCastle Miniature 82

Scattercat

• Caution:
  • Hipparch
  • Amateur wordsmith
    • Mirrorshards
Reply #1 on: May 30, 2013, 02:25:27 AM
Nothing is ever deleted from the Internet.  Not completely.  If you once posted it publicly, it's a reprint now.  You might be able to negotiate something with a particular editor at a given market, but as far as offering it for sale, you should basically specify everything you just said and clearly indicate that you're offering a reprint rather than first worldwide rights.

MokalusOfBorg

• Palmer
    • Mokalus of Blog
Reply #2 on: May 30, 2013, 04:03:27 AM
Fair enough. I kind of figured that would be the case, but it's good to know for sure.

Mokalus of Borg

PS - I should probably concentrate on new work anyway.
PPS - But that old stuff is just sitting there, doing nothing.

Tomato is a fruit, watermelon is a berry, banana is a herb and everything you know is wrong.
PodCastle Miniature 82

Windup

• Hipparch
Reply #3 on: May 31, 2013, 12:38:05 AM

PPS - But that old stuff is just sitting there, doing nothing.