Author Topic: EP487: New Folks’ Home  (Read 11419 times)

eytanz

on: March 29, 2015, 08:35:08 AM
EP487: New Folks’ Home

by Clifford Simak

Read by Norm Sherman

---

Listen to this week’s Escape Pod!

FullMetalAttorney

Reply #1 on: March 30, 2015, 04:50:48 AM
I've been listening for about six months now, and listened to back episodes from late 2012 to the present. I've been toying with the idea of joining the forum for a while, but when I found an episode that talked about law, I had to bite. I'm an attorney myself (though I only practiced for a year before going into federal employment) and I liked the idea here. Of course different societies will need a legal framework if they are to interact peacefully. People hate lawyers, but can you imagine a world without them? Law suits would be replaced by brute force, and that works out well only for a few.

The pastoral setting was charming and relatable. The house had a definite Twilight Zone aspect to it, which wouldn't have borne a much longer story but served its purpose here quite well. And I have to say, that even though the story was five decades old, it holds up pretty well.

On the author--I have no recollection of hearing the name Simak. I'm 32, and have shelves full of Asimov, Bradbury, and a smattering of others (Clarke, Pohl, Niven, Wells, Wolfe, Simmons, LeGuin, Gibson, Card, and Herbert, among others, to stick solely to sci-fi). I started with Robotech and BattleTech in my youth, then grew into Asimov and Bradbury, and then found lists of the greatest SF books of all time to decide how to fill out the rest. So you'd think a name so supposedly well-known and well-regarded would have struck me at some point. That's clearly a failure of someone. There is a company somewhere that stands poised to make a good deal of money off such an author, by reviving interest. Who is dropping the ball?

albionmoonlight

• Matross
Reply #2 on: March 31, 2015, 06:35:22 PM