Author Topic: Read my crap?  (Read 8038 times)

Paranatural

• Palmer
on: June 03, 2009, 06:00:12 AM
I have a couple of stories I'd like someone to read over. I don't want it to be people who I know, I want people who will be harsh critics. I am not a writer, I wrote a couple of flash-length stories on a whim and just want a few people who like stories to read them and temm me either like 'Ok, you could be better if you did X and Y' or 'Jesus, stop writing, you make my brain bleed'. Does anyone know of an appropriate place?

DKT

• Friendly Neighborhood
  • Hipparch
  • PodCastle is my Co-Pilot
    • Psalms & Hymns & Spiritual Noir
Reply #1 on: June 03, 2009, 04:34:13 PM
I've never used critters before but I know several people who have that seem happy with it.

Rachel Swirsky

• Hipparch
    • PodCastle
Reply #2 on: June 07, 2009, 02:10:34 PM
In my opinion, the online writers worskhop (http://onlinewritingworkshop.com/) yields better results.

Unblinking

• Sir Postsalot
  • Hipparch
    • Diabolical Plots
Reply #3 on: September 09, 2009, 08:29:18 PM
Critters is alright, especially for new writers.
strengths: 
emphasis on politeness
it's not a big deal to post an unpolished story
weaknesses: 
-most of the users are beginners,
-most of the comments are "i hate it" or "i love it" without much explanation of either. 
-There's a queue of about a month between posting a story and hearing crits.
-The admin suggest that if you don't finish a story, you shouldn't critique it (counterproductive)
-You have to critique a minimum number of stories to maintain your account

I prefer Baen's Bar (bar.baen.com)
strengths: 
-most of the critiques are honest (but not necessarily nice),
-no critiquing requirement to maintain account
-can post more than one story
-Story can get comments immediately after posting
-Counts as submission to major magazine (for a little while longer, until Jim Baen's Universe officially closes the Introducing slot)