Author Topic: On Clarion Workshops  (Read 7268 times)

Gamercow

• Hipparch
on: January 26, 2012, 03:53:36 PM
I'd like to get others' opinions on how they react to authors being a Clarion West graduate.  There are some authors who mention it every chance they can, there are others who mention it only in their bio, and there are still others who do not mention it at all. 

Personally, not being a writer, I don't know how much value to put into the fact that someone's graduated from a writing workshop.  I gather that it is a very exclusive workshop, and only people with a significant amount of money and 6 weeks to devote to the workshop can go to it.  Are there any statistics on application/acceptance ratios?  Acceptance/graduation ratios?  If you are a publisher/editor, do you give extra weight to a work coming from a person who has graduated Clarion West?  As a reader, does it matter to you?  Or is it, for lack of a better phrase, author wank?