Author Topic: magic PC?  (Read 19687 times)

scottjanssens

• Palmer
Reply #25 on: January 23, 2007, 07:48:55 PM
If I start a game of Solitaire on my computer I must win before I quit playing, otherwise the universe will end.  True story.

Planish

• Hipparch
  • Fun will now commence.
    • northernelectric.ca
Reply #26 on: March 16, 2007, 06:14:24 AM
I'm a technician at a transmitter plant with ten 100 and 250 kW short wave transmitters (Radio Canada International). When I stand in front of them and push the button that brings up the RF carrier, I step back and make a "Rise!" gesture with my outstretched hands, as if I was attempting to levitate them. Mostly it just gives me a better view of all the meters and status LEDs as the voltages and relays kick in.

When I approach an automatic door, i like to give it a Jedi wave just before it opens. I'm hoping that some little kid will think I'm a telekinete.

I feed The Pod.
("planish" rhymes with "vanish")

SFEley

• Hipparch
    • Escape Artists, Inc.
Reply #27 on: March 16, 2007, 06:40:47 AM
When I approach an automatic door, i like to give it a Jedi wave just before it opens. I'm hoping that some little kid will think I'm a telekinete.

Heh.  Your problem will be finding a little kid who doesn't know about automatic doors.  My son's not quite two yet, and he's never reacted to such things with any surprise.  As far as he's concerned, that's just what doors made of glass do.

ESCAPE POD - The Science Fiction Podcast Magazine

slic

• Hipparch
  • Stephen Lumini
Reply #28 on: March 16, 2007, 04:32:19 PM
Quote from: Planish
When I approach an automatic door, i like to give it a Jedi wave just before it opens.
I do the same thing, only it's because I walk quickly and I don't want to bash my nose...

Thaurismunths

• High Priest of TCoRN
  • Hipparch
  • Praise N-sh, for it is right and good!
Reply #29 on: March 16, 2007, 04:56:30 PM